Jul 18/24
4:58 pm

New Westminster Royals



New Westminster

Team Ticker:
  • Welcome to the new home of the New Westminster Royals
  • Royals back to back PMBL playoff champions with 6-3 extra inning win over Burnaby
Player of the game:
(Jul 19/07)

Countdown to Provincials
(Aug 3/07)

Royals 2007 PMBL Playoff Champions
The New West Royals have done it again, becoming back to back PMBL playoff Champions. The Royals did it the easy way this year, going undefeated and defeating rival Burnaby twice to secure the championship.

The Royals opened with a convincing 11-1 victory over Coquitlam and followed that up with an 11 inning 2-1 win over Burnaby. Royals Starter Scott Rhynold allowed only 2 hits in 8 solid innings of work. His only blemish a homerun to Sean Hotzak. Trevor Johnstone pitched 3 shutout innings in relief to pick up the win. David Wells scored the winning run in the 11th on a clutch 2-out single by Graig Merritt.

In the final, the Royals once again matched up against their rival, defeating them 6-3 in 8 innings. Brett Muirhead and Scott Nehaj led the offence with a solo homerun by Muirhead and a 2-run homerun by Nehaj in the 8th inning to secure the victory. Royals starter Andrew Brock, who pitched 16 innings in the 2006 playoff championships, pitched all 8 innings to pick up the win.

The Royals (along with Burnaby) now head to Victoria Aug 3-6 looking to defend their 2006 Provincial Championship and a spot at the 2008 National tournament in Brandon, MB. The Royals open up the tournament against Victoria #2 at 2:30pm friday Aug 3 at Lambrick Park.


Lineup Cards, Dugout Charts, Pitching Charts, Free Team Pages, Free League Pages
Powered by - free team & league websites