May 19/22
10:27 am

St. Boniface Riels




<< back to news

Posted Apr 24/14 - Raiders Spoil Great Season

Game # 5   MMJHL Final

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Riels 1 vs Raiders 2



 The Raiders and Riels Square off for Game 5, Raiders up 3 games to 1.  The crowd was buzzing all through the game with end-to-end action.  The fans packed the Southdale arena to see a great game.  The Raiders opened the scoring at 12:26 of the 1st period when Tanner Magalas scored his 6th of the playoffs with an assist going to Nicholas Loeppky.  The Raiders outshot the Riels 12-9.  It ended 1-0 Raiders after the first period.  The Riels had 4 power plays in the first period, but could not beat Fiebelkorn.  Riels net minder was rookie Ryan Brown and he was solid in the pipes.



Riels finally beat Fiebelkorn at 6:12 when speedy winger Artur Raevskiy gained the Raider zone and made a beautiful saucer pass to Russell Trudeau  and he scored on a one timer.  The crowd went wild!  The second period was very tight checking, no one wanted to make a mistake.   That’s how the second period ended 1-1 tie.  After 40 minutes, Riels out shot the Raiders 13-7.



Raiders took advantage of Riels penalty at 13:24 on the power play when Nicholas Loeppky redirected a shot from the point from Eric Hansey to take the lead 2-1 with six and half minutes left on the clock.  Riels had a power play chance at 14:40 of the third but could not get the equalizer.  Raiders killed off the Riel’s power play all through the last 4 games.  Riels were pressing right to the bitter end but failed to tie the game.  Raiders hung on and won the MMJHL Championship 2-1 and the series 4 games to 1.  Riels out shot the Raiders 13-10 and 35-29 overall.

It was a great series and great season for both teams.  They were the op two all year long.  “Congratulations to the Raiders Hockey Club.”  A big thanks to the Riels Hockey Club for the great season and fantastic entertainment throughout the year!  Special thanks go out to our loyal Riel fans all year long.  Thanks very much for your support, hope to see you all back next year!



     1st Star  -  Ryan Brown

     2nd Star -  Artur Raevskiy

    3rd  Star -  Russell Trudeau


Free Team Pages, Free League Pages
Powered by - free team & league websites