Playoff Format Set

Posted August 5, 2020

Playoff Format Set

The SWBL has offically finalized how the 2020 Championship will be handed out.  The top 6 teams in the regular season will qualify for the year-end tournament, which will include 2 play-in games then a 4-team double-elimination tournament hosted in Oak River on August 15th and 16th.  Below is the schedule (1st and 2nd seed teams get a bye through to the weekend tournamnet):


Tuesday, August 11th

3rd seed vs 6th seed (3rd seed hosts)

4th seed vs 5th seed (4th seed hosts)

**Winners of these games advance to the weekend tournamnet**

Saturday, August 15th

Game 1:  10:00 - 1st seed vs Lowest remaining seed

Game 2:  12:30 - 2nd seed vs Highest remaining seed

Game 3:  3:00 - Loser Game 1 vs Loser Game 2

Game 4:  5:30 - Winner Game 1 vs Winner Game 2

Sunday, August 16th

Game 5:  10:00 - Winner Game 3 vs Loser Game 4

Game 6:  12:30 - Winner Game 4 vs Winner Game 5

Game 7:  3:00 - Winner Game 4 vs Winner Game 5 (if necessary)

As of the morning of Wednesday, August 5th, 4 teams had already punched their tickets to the postseason.  The Oak River Dodgers, Rivers Comets, Hamiota Red Sox, and Virden Oilers will all vie for the championshp next week, though seeding is still yet to be determined.  The final two spots will be filled by two of the Boissevain Centennials, Reston Rockets, and Souris Cardinals.


2022 Finals

August 14, 2022   read more

2022 Semi-Finals Preview

July 28, 2022   read more

2022 Quarter-Finals Preview

July 13, 2022   read more

Playoff Match-ups Set

July 13, 2022   read more

Cents win Rumble with Royals

July 01, 2022   read more

Centennials/Royals First Place Showdown Preview

June 30, 2022   read more

Number of visits to the site: